COSPLAY – Plans for 2017


Cosplay Time!

Last year, I managed to sew not one but two Cosplays and on top, completely made by myself without any help while sewing/creating them. Something, I have not done before since I always had help with sewing or someone who sewed the clothes for me. Let me tell you, sewing a suit and sewing a Victorian suit is hell but I will continue it … for Mycroft.

The two Cosplays I made were:
Mycroft Holmes Modern Version – BBC Sherlock S04x00 The Abominable Bride
and
Mycroft Holmes Victorian Version – BBC Sherlock S04x00 The Abominable Bride
At first, I refused to Cosplay the Victorian Version because of the way he looked but I adored the Outfit so, I thought I would give it a go and hey, it turned out to be my favourite Cosplay so far. Even when there are still bits I want to improve.
The Modern Version is tricky. I like the suit but for the coat I am thinking about sewing a new one with a better fabric and a better fit as well as still looking for a tie even closer to the original one as the one I have found.

For this year, there are two fixed costumes and as well, they will be Mycroft Holmes from BBC Sherlock. One Outfit, I promised and announced to Mark Gatiss himself last year and therefore, I will do my best to keep my word by doing the Outfit of Season 03×03 His Last Vow – “Holmes Family Christmas Celebration”.
The second Outfit I want to tackle for this years Sherlocked is from Season 04×03 The Final Problem – “Relaxed Mycroft”
It looks incredibly comfortable AND I am entitled to craft a sword for this one! For those who have seen the Episode, they know what I am talking about.

The Season 04×03 Outfit from Mycroft’s home is planned for MCM London in May as well since I will be there but I don’t have money to do something new and big.

Talking about Season 04 of Sherlock, this Season left me with more Love for Mycroft Holmes as I already held for him and my Cosplay Wishlist grew only because this Character got so many different outfits.
Four Outfits I would really love to manage somehow this year as well even when I doubt to be able to are these here:
Since Sherlocked UK will be in a Hotel, the Tuxedo of Season 04×02 – The Lying Detective is REALLY tempting but I need to lose more weight and gain more confidence as well as sewing skills for this Outfit. Same goes with the Fisherman from Season 04×03 – The Final Problem since he is wearing a fake nose and in my case, I would have to do a Prosthetic over a prosthetic. Crazy? Yes. Determined to do it? Hell yes but it needs skills.

With these new cosplay ideas that I wish to complete, I find that this year will probably be an eventful one, sewing is not exactly my best friend. With this in mind, I know I will need all of the luck I can get.

Probably the best motivation to make more of the outfits for Mycroft has to be the recognition I have gained from the man himself. Showing him the efforts I have put into each of my creations and receiving such a positive response from him has been a true highlight for me. It makes all of this fulfilling and I can’t wait to improve even more.

Until I’ve finished another cosplay and lament over how it’s not perfect-

Over and Out
the sleeping frog
~Beta’d by The Princess

Leave a comment